Facebook explained this step as follows: “These changes will improve the experience for young people on Facebook. Even if only a small group of young Facebook user decides to post publicly, gives this new feature that opportunity to inform wider, as with other social media services too, “said Facebook in its announcement.
public posts are disabled by default. Posts underage users who have re-registered, are only visible to friends without intervention. Until now, for young people aged 13 to 17 years who are signed up for Facebook that published them of contributions for all members of their extended network, so friends and “friends of friends” were visible by default, but not for all. Facebook is now the default for new members only “friends” back – probably to reassure worried parents might
may now change their privacy settings as a teenager. If they decide to make contributions to publicly share, Facebook has them but at least the first two times out, what that means, namely that their entry can be viewed by anyone and not just from people they know. In this context, it is important to mention that the last setting for the desired audience is maintained. In order to prevent further posts will be published by mistake to the public, it must be changed back.
privacy, or lack of policy, has long been a sensitive issue on Facebook. The social network users have in the past repeatedly criticized constantly for themselves or changing often complicated privacy settings.
Contrary to the myth that young people avoid careless with their online identities, a U.S. study has recently revealed that they indeed are concerned about privacy. So gave 51 percent of the 12 – to 17-year-olds to avoid certain applications for privacy
[With material by Björn Griffin, ZDNet.de]